Set-up not possible

Soundmodul und Fahrtregler in einem Modul
Scrooge
Beiträge: 16
Registriert: Mi 12. Jun 2013, 20:22

Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Scrooge »

I came across a similar problem on the forum but with no clear solution (unless I missed one)
Transmitter: Taranis Q X7
Receiver: FRSKY X8R
Throttle: CH1 / Steering: CH2
Note: combination of these works fine on my USM-RC-2
When I powerup the SFR:
Blue led : flashes 3x fast
Green led : flashes slowly
When I push the setup button:
Green led: flashes fast
Blue becomes red and constant on.
Checked channel outputs of CH1 and 2 using a servo and servo reacts normal
As the SFR is not setup correctly I can’t access it with the data cable
Anny suggestions?
Rascal
Beiträge: 3343
Registriert: Do 9. Okt 2014, 01:31

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Rascal »

Hello Scrooge,
Scrooge hat geschrieben: Do 11. Apr 2024, 22:26When I push the setup button:
Green led: flashes fast
Blue becomes red and constant on.
This indicates a problem with the throttle signal.

First check if the throttle cable (X2/1) is still correctly soldered to the SFR-1, maybe one of the wires broke at the soldering point.

You didn't say if you have already used the SD card previously or written a project to it; if any sum signal (SBUS/SUMD/iBUS) is activated and Prop #1 has been assigned with a SBUS/SUMD channel then X2/1 won't work anymore.
As the SFR is not setup correctly I can’t access it with the data cable
Anny suggestions?
  • Take the SD card and put it into the PC / laptop.
  • Open the Sound Teacher.
  • Select the correct drive under the menu option SD card if the card is not selected automatically.
  • Format it via the Sound Teacher (SD card > Formatting SD card).
  • Save a project to it - either make a new one or take a sample project from the DVD or USB stick. Make sure not to activate any sum signal.
  • Put the SD card back into the SFR-1.
Now you should be able to perform the setup or connect to the SFR-1 via the data cable.

The data cable is not necessary to execute the setup but may help by using the diagnosis to check if there is any incoming signal on Prop #1.
Scrooge
Beiträge: 16
Registriert: Mi 12. Jun 2013, 20:22

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Scrooge »

I followed the suggestion to only connect SBUS
Setup procedure succeeded but…. Steering OK (L+R) but motor only in one direction
So the same problem as user SNIFV8 had 31 may 2020
Led:Green flashing and red constant on
Disabled SBUS in the project and connected CH1+2 (std connection)
When powered up: steady green and steering and motor worked perfect.
Enabled SBUS again in project, reconnected SBUS + both CH1 and 2
But when I powered up supply current jumped to 0.45 A and no led on SFR on
Cut the power and disconnected CH1 and 2. When powered up again no voltage to receiver via SBUS anymore
SFR: 3x blue flash and green slowly blinking
Seems something blown in SBUS circuit as CH1 + 2 do power receiver
Disabled SBUS in the project and connected CH1+2 (std connection)
Performed setup again: after setup green constant Steering L+R OK but again only motor in one direction.
Using power via CH2 from SFR checked receiver output on CH1 via servo = ok L+R
Apparently connecting SBUS and CH1 and CH2 destroyed something in the SFR
(note: still not able to connect to SFR via old data cable from my USM-2, software conflict on Win 11)
Rascal
Beiträge: 3343
Registriert: Do 9. Okt 2014, 01:31

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Rascal »

Scrooge hat geschrieben: Fr 12. Apr 2024, 21:17 But when I powered up supply current jumped to 0.45 A and no led on SFR on
Ist there any other ESC with BEC connected to the receiver, or a receiver battery or an external BEC?

If yes you must ensure that only one BEC is active by disconnecting the red wire from the servo cable of other ESC(s), i.e. pull out the red wire from the servo plug an insulate it.

Since the SFR-1 has a BEC I suggest to disconnect any other components connected to the receiver until you have managed to setup the SFR-1 correctly.
Apparently connecting SBUS and CH1 and CH2 destroyed something in the SFR
The SFR-1 allows connecting both at the same time and the prop channels are very robust. If you were to connect a higher voltage to the receiver like directly from the battery or an external BEC set to output e.g. 7,4V you will damage the SFR-1.), but not by just connecting the servo patch cables between SFR-1 and receiver.

Check the settings of the SFR-1 as explained in the FAQ: The SFR-1 only moves forwards (or only backwards)

If you can't find any problems with the settings please record a diagnosis to the SD card as described in the manual on page 98. Perform the following actions:

- Use configuration with SBUS
- Move throttle stick forward, hold 2-3 seconds
- Back to neutral
- Move throttle stick down, hold 2-3 seconds
- Back to neutral
- Upload file "DIAGNOSIS.DAT" from the SD card to here

Also upload the configuration file (*.sfr) used during the test here, too.
Scrooge
Beiträge: 16
Registriert: Mi 12. Jun 2013, 20:22

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Scrooge »

Nothing else connected to SFR but the receiver and powerd over bench powersupply

Disabling "brake function" solved the problem on only driving one direction
thnx

Performing the diagnostic as discribed is not possible as SBUS is not powering the reveiver
As soon as ch1 or ch2 are connected together with SBUS power consumption jumps to 0.45A
just tried it again
Scrooge
Beiträge: 16
Registriert: Mi 12. Jun 2013, 20:22

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Scrooge »

This is latest version of project with sbus disabled
Dateianhänge
globelnr sbus.sfr
(39.2 KiB) 96-mal heruntergeladen
Rascal
Beiträge: 3343
Registriert: Do 9. Okt 2014, 01:31

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Rascal »

Scrooge hat geschrieben: Fr 12. Apr 2024, 21:56Nothing else connected to SFR but the receiver and powerd over bench powersupply
Not a good idea - bench power supplies will have ripple voltages that may be harmful to electronics which are designed to be powered by battery only, like most RC components.

As such I suggest not to use a bench power supply but a battery instead for any further test.
Performing the diagnostic as discribed is not possible as SBUS is not powering the reveiver
When you say "SBUS" you mean Prop #6 (X2/6)?

Also please confirm that you are using the SBUS port (same side as the PWM outputs) at the receiver, not the S.PORT on the side where the antennas are.

Try to connect Prop #6 to the receiver's channel that outputs the throttle signal (or any other PWM output). Do not connect the SFR-1 throttle and steering cables (X2/1 and X2/2) to the receiver.
Does the receiver power up now?

Ensure that the cable between Prop #6 and the receiver is oriented correctly at both ends.
You can upload a photo if you like me to check.
Rascal
Beiträge: 3343
Registriert: Do 9. Okt 2014, 01:31

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Rascal »

Scrooge hat geschrieben: Fr 12. Apr 2024, 22:00 This is latest version of project with sbus disabled
Nope, it has SBUS enabled and the brake function still active.
Scrooge
Beiträge: 16
Registriert: Mi 12. Jun 2013, 20:22

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Scrooge »

Sorry
was constantly saving modified projects to SD card and probably forgot to save latetst version to PC
Attached correct version
Dateianhänge
globelnr sbus.sfr
(39.2 KiB) 50-mal heruntergeladen
Scrooge
Beiträge: 16
Registriert: Mi 12. Jun 2013, 20:22

Re: Set-up not possible

Beitrag von Scrooge »

Used bench power supply to monitor power consumption and prevend dammage to SFR
will start using batt further on

Also using other port on receiver will not powerup the receiver from x2/6
Yes using correct SBUS port on receiver (see pictures)

note: Nano is not connected
Dateianhänge
20240413_091045.jpg
20240413_091045.jpg (4.86 MiB) 974 mal betrachtet
20240413_091028.jpg
20240413_091028.jpg (4.08 MiB) 974 mal betrachtet
Antworten